Election Night Menu

I am totally psyched to be witnessing election night on the West Coast where I don’t haveto wait up until half past ass to find out who will be our next President.  Come on Virginia.  We’re counting on you!!!!!  I’m also counting on my librarian friend in Virginia to be available for election night talk me down conversations.  He was great in 2006 where I was writing off Jim Webb getting his Senate seat and he kept on saying, “But the urban areas haven’t been counted yet!”

Anyway, we will be having friends over for election night and making a de-facto No on 4 GOTV center.  West Coast Rebecca is arranging it so we can make GOTV calls from our home.  If you haven’t heard, Proposition 4 blows big chunks.   It says that teenagers must notify their parents to get an abortion or wade through a complicated legal process to get a judge to grant them authority to get an abortion.  As I have said in my phone banking, for most families with good communication, parents SHOULD be notified.  But what about the girls being abused by a family member?  Do we tell them to suck it up and risk further abuse?  Do we put the health providers at risk for going to jail simply because they want to help a young girl and she hasn’t told her parents?

Here’s the thing.  I knwo this might be revolutionary and controversial.  But children are not the property of their parents.  Parents raise and care for children but they don’t OWN children.  That means chidlren get to  know that there’s a world where people of the same gender can marry, even if the parents hate the gays.  That means children should get health care, regardless of how their parents feel about abortion.  That means children should be free of abuse, regardless of how parents feel about corporal punishment.

I am a living being.  I am responsible for and connected to other living beings. I don’t OWN other living beings (which means Vote YES on Prop 2!).  My opinions and values don’t trump yours.  The way I will raise my kids won’t dictate the way you raise yours.   And my desire to know what my children are up do does not deny them the ability to seek trusted health care and support when they feel (god forbid) they can’t come to me.

Anyway, back to food.  We’re going with a Thai theme for the gathering.  We have about 10 people coming to watch the returns.  Here’s the menu:

Satay meatballs made with Gimme Lean

Satay chicken

Napa cabbage salad with an orange-sesame dressing and chicken and tofu

spiced nuts

Thai Shrimp cakes

You can go to the other blog for the satay meat ball recipe. The satay dip is easy, mix 2 tablespoons of red curry paste with a can of coconut milk and 1/4 cup of peanut butter.  Add lime and fish sauce to taste.

Here’s the salad recipe

1 small napa cabbage shredded

2 scallions chopped

2 red/orange/yellow peppers, jullienned

1 cup of shredded chicken or cubed extra firm tofu

Dressing

1/4 cup of orange juice

1 tablespoon of rice vinegar

2 tablespoons nuoc mam

1 teaspoon sesame oil

1/2 teaspoon siracha or other chili sauce

2 tablespoons of canola oil

1 clove of garlic finely chopped

1 teaspoon minced ginger

2 tablespoons of seasame seeds

Whisk the dressing together and toss lightly with the cabbage mixture.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Election Night Menu

  1. Stef says:

    I’m having people over, too! But we’re doing a much less interesting menu… pizza, wings, and beer and wine. Hey, Election Night is DC’s Super Bowl, right?

    I don’t know enough about Prop 4 yet. Is that in CA? I know there’s also that new OK bill about mandated sonograms, too. I hate these wedge proposals that are put out, not only on their face, but also cuz you know they’re partially to get out the conservative base vote. I still think that’s a large part of why Kerry lost in 2004.

  2. T says:

    Prop 4 is a California Ballot initiative that requires parents be notified if their daughters are seeking an abortion.

  3. Lisa Thomas says:

    I am loving this. More please

Leave a Reply

