I swear I’m not a cooking stalker

So once again, I make a version of what Scotte is making. But I didn’t read his blog until last night! My inspiration for this dish was from a former roommate who grew up Mennonite. Chicken stew has been a staple these days and for good reason. It’s filling and comforting. And no, I didn’t make my own sauerkraut.

Sauerkraut stew

3 chicken breasts, cut in half widthwise
1 large onion coarsely chopped
2 carrots cut in large chunks
1 cup white wine
1 tablespoon dijon mustard
1 cup of chicken stock
1 16 oz can of sauerkraut
2 andouille style chicken sausages cut into large chunks

Salt and pepper the chicken. In about 2 tablespoons of olive oil (as Rachael Ray would put it, make sure you’ve circled the pot twice with olive oil), brown the chicken on both sides for about 3 minutes on either side. Remove from pan and add 2 tablespoons of butter. Sautee the onions and carrots for about 15 minutes. Deglaze with the white wine and add the mustard and chicken stock. Add the sauerkraut and simmer for 20 minutes. Add the sausage and simmer for another 5 minutes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I swear I’m not a cooking stalker

  1. scotte says:

    Hey, if it weren’t for the stalking, we never would have met each other and J-lo and I wouldn’t have made our way to the great cleverly town and found our wonderful home!

  2. What an interesting recipe. Seems rather easy to make as well. Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

