Why yes I live near Berkeley – Brown Rice and Kale Cakes

I just noticed it’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe. Lucky for me I’ve cooked a couple of things that really hit it out of the ballpark flavor-wise and health-wise. The first is just funny because it really is granola food. I had a bunch of brown rice pilaf left over so I wanted to do something with it. A quick perusal on epicurious had a brown and wild rice cake. As a fan of risotto balls (otherwise known as aracini or suppli di telefono), I knew that a brown rice croquette would be pretty kicking. The thing about this dish is that it takes some planning because the rice mixture needs to be totally cold for the patties to hang together. To boost the nutrition, I also added chopped onion, bell pepper and collard greens. I made the rice mixture on Friday and fried it up for a nice Saturday lunch (great with Teaism-style scrambled tofu).

Brown Rice and Kale Cakes

The rice
1 cup of brown rice
2 cups of broth (vegetable or chicken)

The vegetables
1 onion finely chopped
1 red bell pepper finely chopped
2 cups of collard greens, finely chopped
1.4 cup stock

1 cup of shredded mozarella cheese
1 egg
1/4 cup of breadcrumbs or almond flour

To make the rice, bring the stock ot boil and boil for half and hour until rice is tender. To finely chop the onion and bell pepper, it’s best to stick it in a food processor. Chop the the collard greens as finely as possible. In about a tablespoon of olive oil, saute the vegetables for about 10 minutes. Add the broth and the cooked rice and cook together for another 15 minutes. Throw the whole mixture into a bowl, add the egg, cheese and breadcrumbs. Let the mixture cool completely (usually takes 4 hours). Pack tightly into patties (about 1/3 cup worth of rice) and fry for 5 minutes on both sides on medium high heat until browned on both sides.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why yes I live near Berkeley – Brown Rice and Kale Cakes

  1. dancerindc says:

    Yum! I really want to try this one – I think I could even convince ScottE to try them.

    I notice the recipe calls for kale, but you went with collard greens – do you think it tasted at all different as a result? I generally just find kale to be a bit chewier.

  2. dcfoodblog says:

    I don’t think it really makes a difference since the greens are chopped fine. I find kale to be herbier tasting.

  3. Jane Goody says:

    This is quite a up-to-date info. I think I’ll share it on Digg.

Leave a Reply

