Homemade Vegetarian Banh Mi

I’ve added something new to the repertoire – Vegetarian Banh Mi.  I made it to great acclaim for a rehearsal lunch I threw in September.  The best part about it was J and I found this mini banh mi rolls that were perfect for a buffet.

I know, why on earth would I do that when there are tons of banh mi shops where I live that would make them for a fraction of what it costs me to make them.  What can I say?  I like figuring things out.   I’m not going to lie to you.  This is work.  But the steps are simple and the result is delicious.  So here’s the set up:

banh mi rolls (no, don’t make these yourself)
Garnishes
– cilantro
– homemade mayonnaise
– a few squirts of Maggi on the bread
– sliced cucumber
– sliced jalepeno (for those of you who are adventurous

The Pickled Daikon and Carrot

The lemongrass tofu
This is where it gets fun.  Get a block of Extra firm tofu.  And soak it in the marinade.
– 1/2 cup of soy sauce
– 2 cloves of garlic finely minced
– 2 teaspoons of sugar
– 1 teaspoon of sambal olek
– 2 tablespoons of finely minced lemongrass (get two stalks of lemongrass, cut off the wood end and stick softer end near the root into the food processor)
– 1 teaspoon sesame oil
Let it soak for at least an hour but preferably overnight.  Once marinated, dry it with paper towels and grill on a grill pan for about three minutes on each side until you see the nice grilled marks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

