OFf Topic – To the idiots (read: Democrats) who thinking tax cuts will translate to votes

I’m just tired of Barack Obama touting the fact that people’s taxes have gone down during his watch. What the majority of legislators in DC just can’t seem the grasp is: TAX CUTS DON’T MEAN MORE MONEY IN YOUR POCKET. In some cases, it means less.

Case in point, the lack of tax revenue means that the DMV didn’t have Saturday hours. The DMV not having Saturday hours meant that J and I couldn’t get our car registered for months. Because we couldn’t get our car registered for months, the fee to register went up by triple digits.

Another case in point, the fact that the schools are underfunded means that as some point, J and I will have to move to a neighborhood with a good public school or send our hypothetical child to private school.

Both of these costs end up completely obliterating the few hundred dollars I get in reduced taxes. That’s my thing, raising my taxes might mean that I don’t have to move and pay hundreds of thousands of dollars more for a house in a good school district. Raising my taxes might mean that my school district will cover things like speech therapy for my kid. Raising my taxes might save me thousands of dollars in college tuition payments for my child. Raising my taxes means that government services can be fully accessible to me.

In the end, raising my taxes might mean I have more money in the bank.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

