Biscuits – Apparently I’m good with kids

Last week J’s college friend, her husband and stepdaughter stayed with us for the weekend.  Because they had to get up at half past ass to fly from Seattle of the Bay Area, the adults were in desperate need of a nap.  With the adults occupied (read: napping), I wrangled the Stepdaughter S to be my helper as I was making biscuits to go with the chicken stew.  We used the baking powder biscuit recipe from my handy dandy Better Homes and Garden Cookbook (love the red gingham cover!) but put it on turbo with the addition of fresh thyme form the garden and gruyere.

I had S measure the dry ingredients while I measured the milk and chopped the thyme.  After I whirred it in the food processor, I had S knead the dough and cut it into biscuits.  While I was stirring the chicken stew S, brushed the tops with egg wash and sprinkled grated gruyere on the top.  The result was the best biscuit EVER.  I mean it was light, airy and totally tasty.  With a bit of bacon jam we procured at Sacred Wheel, this was a bite of heaven. A few tips to include kids in your cooking.

  1. Get a stepstool so they can actually be at the right level with the counter.   The only mess that happened was because S pour the milk into the food processor without being high enough.  My bad.
  2. Kids are better at reading directions and measuring than me.  And I assume most adults.  S was great at catching my mistakes before i made them.
  3. Think about what would be appropriate for a child to do.  S was able to cut the butter using a butter knife. I  probably wouldn’t have S chopping vegetables with a chef’s knife.
  4. Little hands make tender pastry.  Live it.  Love it.

Here’s the recipe

2 cups of all purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon sugar
1/3 cup butter cut into teaspoon size
3/4 cup milk
1 tablespoon chopped thyme
1/4 cup of grated gruyere
1 beaten egg diluted 2 tablespoons water.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Put the first four ingredients into a food processor.  But the butter in and pulse until the butter is the size of peas.   Add the milk until the dough comes together.  Pour onto pa floured board and knead about 10 times until it becomes uniform.  Cut into the shape you want and put on a greased baking sheet (or one lined with a silpat).  Brush with egg wash and sprinkle cheese on top.  Bake for 10-12 minutes.  Makes 10 biscuits.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

