Spring on Toast – Fava bean puree

I’m not really a bean person.  In fact, I think most things that have legumes in them probably taste better without them (i.e. chili).  Thanks to West Coast Rebecca, the kryptonite in my legume hate is fava beans.  I love the taste because they aren’t pasty.  There’s a freshness to fava beans that’s closer to peas.  The plus side of fava beans is that they are so utilitarian when it comes to gardening.  Like other legumes, they are nitrogen fixing and nourish the soil.  Additionally, the leaves are edible (I like them lightly sauteed).

Saturday, I made fava bean puree which was amazing.  The fresh flavor highlighted the mint I poached from a neighbor’s yard (well they actually begged me to take some).

Fave Bean Puree

2 cups of shelled fava beans
1 clove of garlic
3 large springs of mint
1 cup of ricotta cheese (we use Bellweather Farms)
1/4 cup of grated parmesan

Throw everything into a food processor and blend until smooth.  The end.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring on Toast – Fava bean puree

  1. hungry dog says:

    I’m mostly with you on the bean thing. I do love fava beans, and pureed with ricotta and mint, irresistible!

Leave a Reply

